An excuse for less broccoli (maybe)

Image

Did you know that your inherited DNA determines the amount of taste buds on your tongue? Well, I didn’t know that before taking a PCT test in biology class last year! I discovered that some people (a quarter of the population to be exact) are “supertasters.” Supertasters experience their food more intensely, as their taste buds are three times more sensitive. This means sweet foods are sweeter, salty foods taste saltier, and sadly, bitter foods more bitter. I unfortunately am not a supertaster, so I’ll never use the excuse to my mother,”BUT MOM, broccoli will cause my taste buds to go CRAY CRAY!”

Leave a Reply

