How to: Banana Bread with Pecans

breadrevolts

So I’m still reading A Tale of Two Cities and the issue concerning the availability of bread for peasants is mentioned multiple times. Bread was an important part of the peasants’ diet, however it became very scarce and expensive for them, leading them to revolt.

This reminded me of one of my favorite kinds of bread: Banana Bread! I haven’t made it in a long time and when I came across “bread” in the story I realized, unlike the peasants, I do have all the ingredients to make Banana Bread and it isn’t really gonna cost me anything, so why don’t I make good use of the bananas I have instead of letting them get wasted.

This is a pretty simple recipe that I tried for the first time, but is similar to the one I usually use.

IMG_1628

Banana Bread with Pecans

Ingredients:

1 cup granulated sugar
8 tablespoons (1 stick) unsalted butter
2 large eggs
3 ripe bananas
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking powder
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup chopped pecans

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F.

Cream the sugar and butter in a large mixing bowl until light and fluffy. Add the eggs in.

In a separate bowl, mash the bananas with a fork and add the milk and cinnamon. Take the mixture and add it into the creamed mixture.

Add in the rest of the dry ingredients to the mixture and the chopped pecans in the end.

Grease your loaf pan and pour in the batter. Place into oven and bake for about an hour.

Use a toothpick to make sure the bread is fully baked inside. Take pan out and remove the bread, letting it cool for 10 minutes.

Slice and serve.

IMG_1633

I hope you enjoy as much as I did!

-Mahum

Leave a Reply

